Community
Kitchens

Campbell's logo and Food Banks Canada logo

Community Kitchen Better Meals Fund

For the nearly 900,000 Canadians who access food banks every month, having the basic cooking and nutritional know-how to make healthier meals for themselves and their families can be a challenge. In partnership with Food Banks Canada, Campbell Canada helps to support the Community Kitchen Better Meals Fund to help food banks develop, maintain or expand their Community Kitchen programs.

This ongoing program helps individuals and families gain access to nutritious meals by supporting food banks across the country in either launching or expanding a Community Kitchen program that provides meal planning and nutrition education or healthy meals to the communities they support.

A few Community Kitchen Better Meals Fund recipients

The Salvation Army Community Food Bank – Penticton, BC
The Salvation Army Community Food Bank is a valuable resource in the community, currently serving between 600 and 800 clients every month, largely single parent households with young children.

A Community Kitchen Better Meals grant was made for the upgrade of existing and purchase of new kitchen equipment, and development of a nutrition education program to help young families and youth expand their healthy cooking and nutrition knowledge through fun, interactive programs.

The Hope Pantry – Welland, ON
The Hope Pantry has been serving the Welland community since 1974, providing services such as food bank, emergency hostel, soup kitchen, literacy and employment programs. The kitchen serves more than 1,000 lunches per month, relying on 10 daily volunteers to serve meals and operate the food bank.

A Campbell Community Kitchen Better Meals grant was made to purchase meal preparation equipment and learning materials for nutrition education and hands-on cooking classes.

Feed Nova Scotia – Halifax, NS
Feed Nova Scotia’s Learning Kitchen began serving meals to the Halifax community in 2005 and currently serves more than 3,000 meals every month. The Learning Kitchen also provides 30 students a 17-week practical training program in culinary skills and meal planning to assist with employment placement.

A Campbell Community Kitchen Better Meals grant was made for the purchase of kitchen equipment, and the development of a nutrition education program and resource material.

Help Hunger Disappear

Each year Campbell’s donates one million pounds of wholesome food products to food banks across the country. We also provide charitable funds, research resources, and community and awareness building programs.

Learn more
Watch how together, we can help Nourish those in need.

 

VIDEO - NOURISH Early Impact
Community Kitchens volunteers

 

In 2011, the  Community Kitchen Better Meals Fund provided $50,000 in grants to food banks across Canada.

Cuisines
collectives

Campbell's logo and Food Banks Canada logo

Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives

Pour les près de 900 000 Canadiens qui visitent les banques alimentaires chaque mois, il n'est pas toujours évident d'avoir les connaissances nutritionnelles nécessaires pour préparer des repas sains pour eux-mêmes et leur famille. En association avec Banques alimentaires Canada, Campbell Canada aide à soutenir le Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives pour aider les banques alimentaires à développer, maintenir ou amplifier leurs programmes de cuisines collectives.

 Ce programme en continu permet à des individus et des familles d'avoir accès à des repas nutritifs en aidant les banques alimentaires du pays à lancer ou amplifier un programme de Cuisine collective qui offre de la formation en planification de menus ou en nutrition, ou qui fournit des repas nutritifs aux collectivités desservies.

Quelques récipiendaires du Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives

La Salvation Army Community Food Bank – Penticton, C.-B.

La banque alimentaire communautaire de l'Armée du salut est une ressource précieuse pour la collectivité, desservant actuellement entre 600 et 800 clients chaque mois, principalement des familles monoparentales avec de jeunes enfants. 

Une bourse du Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives lui a été accordée pour le remplacement d'appareils existant et l'achat de nouveaux équipements de cuisine, et pour l'élaboration d'un programme d'éducation nutritionnelle visant à aider les jeunes et les jeunes familles à améliorer leurs connaissances sur la cuisine santé et la nutrition à l'aide de programmes interactifs et amusants. 

The Hope Pantry – Welland, ON

The Hope Pantry dessert l'agglomération de Welland depuis 1974, offrant des services de banque alimentaire, d'hébergement d'urgence, de soupe populaire, ainsi que des programmes d'alphabétisation et d'emploi. La cuisine sert plus de 1 000 repas du midi par mois, faisant appel à 10 bénévoles par jour pour servir les repas et faire fonctionner la banque alimentaire.

 Une bourse du Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives de Campbell lui a été accordée pour l'achat d'équipement de préparation de repas et de matériel didactique pour l'éducation nutritionnelle et les cours de cuisine pratique.

 FEED NOVA SCOTIA – Halifax, N.-É.

La Learning Kitchen (cuisine d'apprentissage) de FEED NOVA SCOTIA a commencé à servir des repas à la collectivité d'Halifax en 2005 et sert actuellement plus de 3 000 repas par mois. La Learning Kitchen fournit aussi à 30 étudiants un programme de formation pratique de 17 semaines en compétences culinaires et planification de menus pour les aider à se trouver un emploi.

 Une bourse Campbell Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives lui a été accordée pour l'achat d'équipement de cuisine et l'élaboration d'un programme d'éducation nutritionnelle et de matériel de ressource.

Aidez à faire disparaître la faim

Chaque année, Campbell fait don d'un demi-million de kilos de produits alimentaires sains à des banques alimentaires réparties dans tout le pays. Nous fournissons également des fonds caritatifs, des ressources de recherche, et des programmes de sensibilisation et de soutien à la collectivité.

Pour en savoir plus
Watch how together, we can help Nourish those in need.

 

VIDEO - NOURISH Early Impact
Community Kitchens volunteers

En 2011, le Fonds Repas santé pour les cuisines collectives a fourni
50 000 $ en bourses aux banques alimentaires du Canada.